3AM musings

I know the posting time is not Monday night/Tuesday night at 2:30 but please believe me that’s when I’m writing this only to copy and paste it into WordPress later when I’m drinking a coffee somewhere in my hometown and siphoning the city of its wireless internet that no longer reaches my mother’s apartment.

But enough of the English lit flourishes, this is an update for the RRR and honestly, it’s a good one. We still need people up for doing that PSA idea, I’ve had contact from the ever-so-awesome Arthur Knowledge and hope to hear from more of you very soon.

So why am I even awake at 2:30 in the morning aside from a particularly skewed sleeping pattern? Well, I’m currently editing the 25th Anniversary video, or a draft of it, for the AIDS committee of London. Remember the woman from the last video update? Yeah, the awesome Natalie Hebert, go ahead, watch again, I don’t mind. Anyway, it’s their 25th anniversary as an organization. I’ve sat in on most of the interviews for this video but there is one in particular I didn’t get to join in on and that was for the first executive director Betty Ann Thomas. I’ve been watching the footage though and just listening to her makes me wish I could upload her whole 45 minute interview somewhere.

One thing I’ve been aiming for with the presence of the red ribbon and the whole point of the project is to draw the needed attention to the cause without the need of hyperbole. Maybe a few of you aren’t too young to remember what it was like in the late 1980s and early 1990s but if you want a clue, basically if you had sex, you were as good as dead. That’s the seed of perhaps the best pair of lines in Hot Tub Time Machine:

Rob Cordry: “The eighties! Free love man!”
John Cusak: “That was the sixties, we had Reagan and AIDS, let’s get the fuck out of this decade.”

I think I’ve given up on splitting this interview for the night and am just listening to it. It’s the power of history like hearing about how she brought the AIDS Quilt to London, the Die In protest, activism in the early days and how it was not only important to a number of related issues but that it was fun. How’s that for unexpected? But then, there was someone dying every week. You know what kept her going? Denial, the fact that there was work to be done and lives still being lived and people to help and jobs kept needing to be done. This woman is all class. She says we have to keep wearing the red ribbon. It’s imperative.

I couldn’t agree more.

Leave a Reply

